Sketchbooks That Are So Last Year

Flashback: Christmas 2012.
My brother and I got matching gifts, yet again. These ones are actually pretty cool, though. They are 2013 calendars of Frank Lloyd Wright’s amazing colored pencil sketches. These ones will definitely provide some inspiration…

2013.
The calendars spend their days hangin’. Not much else happens really.

January 2014.
I find myself with a seemingly useless collection of incredible drawings. I hesitate to throw them away because the paper is nice and glossy, and the images are nice and big. At the same time, I find myself lacking in the sketchbook department. I, as an architecture student, like to take my notes on unruled paper to give my ideas breathing room, so the standard 8.5 x 11 lined paper notebooks will simply not do. And what sort of poor college student wants to spend money? Not me! So I decided to put Frank’s drawings to work. I cut up a few of the images, added some printer paper, and stapled the stack together, and I made my very own sketchbooks. Here are the first two products:

One of my favorite drawings of Frank's
One of my favorite drawings of Frank’s

My first go at a sketchbook
My first go at a sketchbook

Current Day: February 2014
I just finished making my third sketchbook, but I’ve made some improvements. I used my favorite drawing from the calendar (of Taliesin West), and I employed a heavy duty stapler, which made the binding process easier. I also added some thin chipboard to each inside cover so that I can take field notes without the surface of a desk. Here is my proudest product:

My proudest achievement to date (sketchbook-wise)
My proudest achievement to date (sketchbook-wise)

Thin chipboard provides a flat surface while allowing the book to maintain its shape
Thin chipboard provides a flat surface while allowing the book to maintain its shape

I encourage you to do the same! Next time you find yourself about to toss some nice looking papers into the recycling bin, take a second look and you might have a nice cover on your hands. I’m proud to use these books knowing I made them myself. And who knows, you might have some interested customers on your hands as well.

Have fun!

Leave a Reply

