Spring Wardrobe Cleaning: Upcycle the Old and In with the New

This weekend, after spending hours trying to stuff all my warm-weather clothes anywhere they would fit and moving my winter clothes out, I came to realize just how many articles of clothing I own and how many I don’t even wear anymore. Some beloved shirts are starting to show serious wear and tear, while others, I’ve discovered, looked a lot better in the store. And does anyone else have a section of their sock drawer dedicated to the lonely, single socks that will probably never be reunited with their missing counterparts? What does one do with them?? Pinterest boards to the rescue! I, personally, am not too keen on going out and buying special art supplies, and I also don’t have a sewing machine here, so that has pretty significantly limited my craft project options. This is why I love upcycling projects so much! In most cases, all you need is some scissors, a hot glue gun, and maybe some paint.

No-Sew T-shirt Bag

DIY courtesy of mommypotamus.com!

There was an earlier post on how to upcycle an old t-shirt into a super cute reusable bag (great for farmer’s markets!), but that one involves sewing and is a little bit more complex. Also, there’s a lot of cutting to create the bag’s design, and I wanted to find a DIY that could preserve the designs on some of my graphic tees.

1. Cut the sleeves and neckline off of the shirt. When cutting the neckline, if it’s not a standard t-shirt, you’ll want to aim for an ovular shape that doesn’t plunge too deep. You can use the edge of a bowl to trace an outline on the inside of the shirt if you want some extra precision.

2. Determine how deep you want the bag to be, keeping in mind that the bag will probably stretch a little when there’s stuff in it. Turn the shirt inside out and trace a line across where you want the bottom of your bag to be.

3. Cut fringe by cutting slits (3/4-1in wide) from the bottom of the shirt to the line you drew. You’ll want to cut both the front and back layers of the shirt together so they match up.

4. Tie each pair (front and back layers) of fringe together. This part gets a little complicated, so I’ll refer you to my source, Mommypotamus, since she explains it really well!

Sock Coffee Mug Cozy

DIY courtesy of http://www.mommypotamus.com/sock-coffee-mug-cozy-how-to/

I haven’t tried this one, but it looks fairly simple to me. I feel like a great way to avoid the wasteful cardboard coffee sleeves in coffee shops would be to make a cozy the length of the light grey one in the image above, and fold it 2-3 times then glue it down so it’s thick enough to protect your hands from getting burned ~sustainably and stylishly~!

1. Measure the section of the cup you want the cozy to cover.

2. Pick a sock that has enough of the stretchy, elastic ankle part to fit your cup. Cut the sock to the length you measured in step 1.

3. Fold the side you cut inwards, and use fabric glue (I don’t think hot glue will hold up too well on fabric) to glue it down so it doesn’t fray.

Happy spring cleaning, everyone!!!

Putting your winter and riding boots away for the season? Put your old magazines to use, and prevent your boots from getting distorted by stuffing a rolled up magazine into each boot! Image courtesy of https://scstylecaster.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/x23687.jpg
One Comment Add yours

  1. I love both of these ideas! I’m definitely trying these!

Leave a Reply

